top of page

Finding Treasure

Vintage 1950's pair of Levi's jeans pulled from a warehouse (Almost 70 years old)

I have had this long-time love of vintage clothing that has taken over my closet. I collect things that are older than I am and hope to keep them alive just a little longer. I’m kind of a t-shirt hoarder and have been finding shirts for the last decade or so. It has gotten to the point where it was time that I let go of the things I couldn’t fit or the things I no longer liked. I was so attached to these shirts emotionally; I remember when and where I bought them, and the feeling of “winning the lottery” that it gave me.



I started with one shirt. Posting it on social media and seeing if I could sell it to a friend before I sell it to a stranger. One shirt turned into a slew of selling that not only was my past-time, but it was also a decent portion of my income. I would buy a shirt for a couple of dollars, and eventually, sell it for anywhere between $30-$1000. This passion turned into a full-on online business. I knew in my mind that I had collected things of value, but never of any monetary value. I just loved a shirt with character.

I began to post more and more and eventually started using third-party apps to sell and manage my things. Running online shops on different platforms is difficult. Your room will be filled with boxes, labels, and packages going out, but there is nothing scarier and more exciting than someone buying something you once enjoyed. You know it will go to someone who will wear it more than you can.

I can’t say everything is as luxurious as it sounds; you could go days and weeks without order and must budget your last dollars as if your life depended on it. Although, it is better than working any retail job or 9-5 in an office. You are your own boss and there is never a clock out time when you work. The long days driving from thrift store to thrift store, taking pictures, and packing orders is something that I think I will be doing for a long time to come.

There is an art to finding treasure out of the trash and I can say I have gotten good at it. The history, art, and fashion aspect of old clothes makes me value them more than a sale price ever will.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Don't Let The Internet Eat You Alive

We live in a world where our voice is louder than ever. Anyone and everyone can broadcast what they believe in and what they are doing, all over the internet. Now, more than ever, social media has imp

bottom of page