top of page

Finding Your Individuality - Tess Brown



Hi there! I’m Tess Brown, a college student, a blogger, and a one of a kind individual. I would consider myself an artist, lover of beauty and people. Being the oldest of five, I’ve always been surrounded by many individuals.


One of my favorite activities to spike creativity is to create “mood boards.” This is where I collect snippets of images that contain color and subjects that speak to the aesthetic I’m trying to illustrate. What does this have to do with people? Well, these mood boards are meant to give you a specific “feel,” and I would argue this is what a person you cross paths also gives you. A feeling…


The first impression of an individual walking down a street can be given to us from their sense of style, facial expression, stature, and walk. When you start to get to know a person you pick up their mannerisms, way of talking, likes, dislike, hobbies, passions, goals, and many more aspects of who they are. We consciously or subconsciously take this information in and make a profile of the individual. This is all done through the lenses of who we are as individuals!


Each of us a walking and talking mood board. As much as I'm fascinated with individuality I'm obsessed with every person's "aesthetic." I like to think everyone has one. Your "aesthetic" is the collaboration of all your loves and who you appear to be. What's interesting is every person might have a different idea of what "feeling" or "vibe" they get from you. If everyone in your life was to make an aesthetic to board categorize you...they would all be different. This is because we all have different realities of who someone is to us.


This brings up the topic, that all our realities are different. If I was to make a mood board of who my friend is to me, it could also show who I am, for it’s my interpretation and view. Individuality is complicated, diverse, and fascinating. I would encourage everyone to explore other people’s individuality by physically (or if that’s too weird) mentally creating a mood board of who someone is to you. What colors do you associate them with? Warm fuzzy feelings or harsh lines? Are they bright and sunny or dark and sad?


Individuality is vital. Without it, we would all be blank canvases. Who we are as a person is the biggest gift of all. That is how we connect with other people and make an impact on our environment. Don’t stop advertising your aesthetic! And make it a good one!

6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Don't Let The Internet Eat You Alive

We live in a world where our voice is louder than ever. Anyone and everyone can broadcast what they believe in and what they are doing, all over the internet. Now, more than ever, social media has imp

bottom of page