top of page

Tuition for The School of Experience


This is a metaphor for that defining moment that affirmed who you are. In life, there are moments in time that you realize are intangible. These moments teach you lessons, mold your character, and determine your life’s path. What is The School of Experience? This school determines who you are; this school takes your current life path and moves you on a different trail. This “school” can only be paid with the blood, sweat, and tears of your life. This tuition comes from the time you sacrifice your where you are; to get to where you will be. My moment came at a time where I was lost on my path.


I paid my tuition to The School of Experience a little later than others. At the time, I was a sophomore in college. I played two sports, worked a full-time job, and somehow balanced my fragile mental health at the same time. I was utterly stuck in a cycle of school, work, and obligations that I couldn’t break from. My day consisted of early morning practices, long days at school, and even longer nights at work. I spent so much time thinking I was on the right path that I lost all my passion for what I truly loved.


I was a defeated soul and felt as if I were drowning. I was at a point that I considered rock bottom and I needed a change in my life.


My eureka moment came one day when I was scrolling twitter and came across a tweet. It was from the legendary founder of Def Jam, Rick Rubin. It said, “create an environment where you are free to express what you’re afraid to express.” I pushed myself into a monotonous routine where I was losing my sense of creativity. My environment never allowed me to express myself or what I loved to do. I thought that getting a college degree and finding a job straight out of school was the goal. I thought to myself, “I will never work in a cubicle pushing paperwork to make another person’s dream come true.” I would be damned if I ever worked for someone else’s dream to come true rather than my own.


I quit my current job and stopped playing sports. I decided to get help for my health and skipped a couple of classes here and there during the term. This was such a change; I had free time for myself, which I used to teach myself how to sew, read more, and figured out what I really wanted to do after I was done school. I was guiding myself for who I want to become and not who I already was.


That year of change and movement allowed me to really discover who I am. I was building a platform that led me to where I am. Recently I worked with Adidas, started applying for grad school, and am starting a program that gives underprivileged artists tools to make their art. I now have my hand in so many mediums of creation and have met so many great people. I graduated from The School of Experience top of the class.

55 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Don't Let The Internet Eat You Alive

We live in a world where our voice is louder than ever. Anyone and everyone can broadcast what they believe in and what they are doing, all over the internet. Now, more than ever, social media has imp

bottom of page